I always wanted to create a blog about wine reviews and ratings.  In fact, I opened an WordPress account three years ago with this in mind but just didn’t get around to doing it. I have been studying wine and spirits for about three years now – not every day but at least once a week.  I do not work in the industry however my library is full of great wine books and my cellar is full of good wine.  I have become certified in the Court of Master Sommeliers and working on completing my diploma in wine studies through the Wine & Spirits Education Trust.  My love for this glorified grape juice goes back over 8 years ago when I met a wine maker in a small town in central California.  He explained to me what I was tasting and what it took to make good wine as it was not that easy to accomplish.  Almost a decade later, I remain passionate about viticulture, vinification & professional service and as the wine maker got my interest, I would like to do the same with my audience.

Just who exactly is a wine advocate or a wine enthusiast?  What kind of person is he or she that spends their hard earned disposable income on such a sophisticated product.  In the article “Users of the world, unite!”, authors Andreas Kaplan and Michael Haenlein explain that in order to make an effective blog, you need to know your audience (2010).  I think my audience are oenophiles (lovers of wine) and connoisseurs that believe socializing is critical to a healthy lifestyle.

In the next few weeks, I will be blogging about some of my favorite and not so favorite wines including practiced wine pairings and details of the wonderful cuisine that it accompanied.  I will be also writing full ratings of value priced selections along with details of the local market supply and availability.  Hopefully I can convert a few casual sippers into a full out epicure.  Cheers everyone!

Bibliography

Kaplan, A. M., & Haenlein, M. (2010). Users of the world, unite! The challenges and opportunities of Social Media. United States: Kelly School of Business.

 

Leave a Reply

